PARK FOREST COOPERATIVE III, AREA J

MINUTES of the 58th ANNUAL MEETING MAIL-IN ELECTION

August 4th, 2021

CALL TO ORDER

President Catherine (Kitty) Watson called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. This meeting was held in the conference meeting room of the office at 294 Lakewood Blvd., Park Forest, IL, 60466.

Board Members Present:	Kitty Watson, Stephanie Winston, Louis Larrieu, Sarah Yates and Robert Carreon
Management Present:	Euricka Young
Candidates Present	Shawn Bishop, Janis Elmore, Michelle Lileikis, Bethsheba Robinson, Mark Scioani, and Joyce Stegall

PROCEEDINGS:

Quorum present – Yes

OPENING REMARKS

On Wednesday, August 4th, the annual meeting election was held at the Area J office. We had eight candidates running for three Board positions. Mail in ballots along with one raffle ticket were mailed to all shareholders with a deadline to return the ballots by 6:30 p.m. on 8/4/21 to the office. Dave Constantine, Area J insurance agent, and Danielle Abendroth, Area J auditor, monitored the counting of the ballots. The ballots were counted in a separate room.

PREVIOUS MINUTES

The minutes were approved by membership via mail-in ballots sent to the office.

REPORTS OF OFFICERS (ATTACHED)

Official reports were inserted in the annual meeting booklet

PROPOSED CANDIDATES COMMENTS (ATTACHED)

Official speeches were inserted in the annual meeting booklet

ELECTION OF INSPECTORS OF ELECTION

Overseer of the counting of ballots: Danielle Abendroth Ballot counters: Dave Constantine, Joy Breese, Mamie Rodgers, Bill Schrader, and Margrit Withers

OLD BUSINESS

None

NEW BUSINESS

A motion was made by Louis Larrieu to begin all board meetings at 6:00p.m. instead of 6:30p.m. on the 4th Tuesday of the month.

Sarah Yates seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Sarah Yates stated that receiving the board packets the Friday before the board meeting is not enough time to go over all the information.

Euricka Young stated that bank statements usually come on the 15th of the month therefore the financials for the previous month are not ready the week before the meeting. Euricka needs more time after Ferne Hillger, our bookkeeper, closes the previous month to make all journal entries.

It was decided that on a trial bases the financials for the current month's meeting will be delayed 1 month so that the packets can be ready one week before the meeting. Euricka agreed to get the board packets out the Tuesday before each board meeting.

Stephanie Winston asked that all board members come to the next meeting with ideas for the improvement of our cooperative.

The counting of the mail in ballots took longer than expected. We received more ballots than previous years. The board members agreed that they had to wait too long for the counting of the ballots to be completed. They would like the counting to begin before they arrive so that they are not waiting so long for the results. Louis Larrieu stated that the ballot deadline should be 4:30 p.m. Counting should begin at 5:30p.m. and the board meeting should begin at 6:30p.m. It was noted that next year's meeting would reflect this change if the meeting was held as a mail in ballot meeting.

ELECTION PRIZES

Prize winners were pulled by Sofia and Saul Tapia. The list of the 2021 Annual Meeting election prizes is attached.

ELECTION RESULTS

The results of the August 4, 2021 annual meeting elections were announced by Stephanie Winston.

Congratulations to: Janis Elmore, Michelle Lileikis and Phil Schmehl.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u> Louis Larrieu made a motion to adjourn the regular board meeting at 8:30pm. Robert Carreon seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

Rosane Krumb, Recording Secretary

SUBMITTED BY:

ATTESTED TO:

Stephanie Winston, President

Robert Carreon, Vice President

AREA J COOPERATIVE Special Board Meeting (Election of Officers) August 4, 2021

The purpose of the meeting was to elect the officers for August 2021 – August 2022 Board Members Present: Stephanie Winston, Louis Larrieu, Sarah Yates and Robert Carreon, Janis Elmore, Michelle Lileikis and Phil Schmehl.

ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

A motion was made by Sarah Yates to elect Stephanie Winston as President. Bobby Carreon seconded. Motion Carried.

A motion was made by Sarah Yates to elect Robert Carreon as Vice President. Stephanie Winston seconded. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Robert Carreon to elect Sarah Yates as Secretary. Louis Larrieu seconded. Motion carried.

The Board agreed that Louis Larrieu would remain as Treasurer.

The Officers of the 2021-2022 Board of Directors:

Stephanie Winston: President		
Robert Carreon:	Vice President	
Sarah Yates:	Secretary	
Louis Larrieu:	Treasurer	
Janis Elmore:	Director at Large	
Michelle Lileikis	Director at Large	
Phil Schmehl	Director at Large	

'The Freshman Class of Directors' and 'General Board Guidelines' were given to the new board members by Ms. Euricka Young. See Attached.

Respectfully submitted by Recording Secretary of Minutes, Rosane Krumb